Pattern review: Double-breasted Dolman Jacket

Pattern name: Double-breasted Dolman Jacket

Pattern Book/Booklet: Second Size Woollies in P&B wools of 4-ply weight (Booklet number 406)

Date of publish: 1950*

Wool required: 3oz Patons Beehive Fingering 4-ply

Needles required: Number 10 and number 12*

Wool used: Patons Fairytale Soft 4ply (I used 2 50g balls and had some left overs)

Needles used: No.12 and No.10

Would I knit it again: Probably not

Tension: I was naughty and didn’t do a tension square, in my defence it is a baby jumper, how precise does it need to be? I am the school of they can grow into it 🙂

Finished measurements: Chest 19 inches (roundly 48.5 cm), sleeve length 8 inches (roughly 20.5 cm), length 8.5 inches (roughly 22 cm)

More in depth thoughts after the pictures.

 

Dolman Cardigan 3 Dolman Cardigan 2 Dolman Cardigan 1

The slightly rambling thoughts: So I made this pattern to increase my stock pile of knits because it seemed like quite a cute pattern and also because I actually want to ‘finish’ some of the pattern booklets that I own.

In a discussion with the guys at work they asked me if knitting pattern books were something that you had to complete and knit all the patterns from them, like finishing a computer game. I had never really thought about it before but the seed has been sewn and I thought as booklets go this is a pretty cute on.

The pattern was easy enough to follow and the fact it is not plain stocking stich was nice. As this is a dolman sleeve cardigan it is knitted in a style that I like to call ‘up and over’. You work up the fronts separately, increasing as you go up for the sleeves, you then join the two fronts together at the shoulder seams and work over and down to the bottom of the back edges, decreasing the sleeves as you go. This gives a more baggy sleeve than a set in or a raglan sleeve, but it does mean that you don’t have to battle with sewing the sleeves in (that bit has always been my least favourite part of knitting). The only down side is when you are at the point at the top when you have all the stitches on the needle the knitting can seem to go on forever.

The collar was knitted with the main body so the only finishing off required was picking up stiches for the cuffs.

Overall I probably won’t be knitting this again, not that I didn’t enjoy knitting it, just I feel that I have better patterns, although if you have never knitted a dolman cardigan I would say give it a try if anything just for the small amount of seams that have to be sewn up.

I followed the pattern exactly, for older patterns it was pretty easy to understand, however I may be slightly bias because I have a ton of these little booklets and love then

Miss S xx

*1950 is the date that is given on Ravelry, the dolman sleeve were a bigger trend in the 1950s so I  have no real reason to disagree with this.

**These are the British imperial sizes, these are roughly a 3.25mm and 2.75mm metric needles respectively.

One thought on “Pattern review: Double-breasted Dolman Jacket

  1. Pingback: Pattern Review: Raglan Jersey Suit | We've brought the wrong box

Leave a Reply

