Pattern Review: Round Yoke Cargian

Round Yoke Raglan

The basic stats:

Pattern name: Round Yoke Raglan

Pattern Book/Booklet: Two Rangelands – up to nine months

Date of publish: 1959*

Wool required: 3oz Patons Baby wool 3-ply pationsied or 3oz Patons Brilliante 3-ply 100% bri-Nylon

Needles required: Number 11**

Wool used: Katia New Babette (I used 1 50g ball with some left overs)

Needles used: No.11

Would I knit it again: It was a pretty simple raglan cardigan so I think it’s a maybe with a tendency to knit again.

Tension: You will learn that I don’t really tension it out for baby knits

Finished measurements: Chest 18 inches

More thoughts after a couple of pictures

Round yoke cardigan 3

Round Yoke Raglan 2

The slightly rambling thoughts: I knitted this because I don’t really like sewing in sleeves so I went for a yoked cardigan.

The lacy pattern was really easy and makes it slightly different. then just a plain yoked cardigan. It is one of those inoffensive cardigans that could become one of my standard knits, it’s not particularly exciting but was quite easy to knit.

The only change I made was a knitted the fronts and back in one piece until the armholes, because yay less seams!

I also only gave it two buttons because I missed the middle buttonhole in the pattern, so I would say keep an eye out for that.

What does everyone think?

Miss S xx

* 1959 is a date on Amazon, no really reason to doubt this, I have always assumed these were 1950-60 patterns

**This is an imperial size, this would be a modern day 3mm needle, however you can normally get imperial sized needles from charity shops.

2 thoughts on “Pattern Review: Round Yoke Cargian

    • Thank you! I do love vintage patterns, but I feel like the baby patterns are less costume-y than some of the adult patterns, and people seem quite happy to receive them, plus they are much quicker to knit 🙂

Leave a Reply

