Pattern review: Ely

DSC02124

The basic stats

Pattern name: Ely

Pattern Book/Booklet: Patons Fairytale Cheeky Cherubs

Date of publish: 2008

Wool required: Patons Fairytale DK

2 x 50g balls for 3-6 month size (there are a total of 4 sizes available in the book)

Needles required: 1 x 3.25 mm (UK 10) and 1 x 4mm (UK 10)

Wool used:

Rico baby classic DK colourway 023 Eisblau

I ended up using just under 2 50g balls

Needles used: UK 10 and UK 8

Would I knit it again: This is a quick knit and looks quite effective, I have made it before and I will probably make it again, I would also recommend it as a introduction to cabling

Tension: I’m half tempted to leave this out because I will always say ‘It’s a baby’s so I just went for it’ but I feel like I should acknowledge that checking tension is Knitting 101

Finished measurements: Chest measurement (unstretched) 14 inches

Chest measurement (stretched) 20 inches

Sleeve length to underarm 6.5 inches

This matches the measurements in the book

More in depth thoughts after the pictures. In the pictures the cardigan is unstretched but due to entire pattern being a 1×1 cable the whole cardigan is essentially a fancy 2×2 rib so has a lot of stretch in it.

Ely 2
Ely 1

The only change I made on the pattern was that I knitted the button band up with the front pieces (I made the right side first so I decided where I wanted my buttonholes on the left hand side. The only thing to remember with this is that you have an extra 5 stitches when working the armhole decrease.

I do this because:

  1. I try to minimise the amount of sewing up I have to do
  2. I always seems to knit the wrong length for sewn on button bands, so when I sew it on it ends up being too loose or too tight.

Other than that I followed the pattern.

This is a really easy pattern to follow, and the cable is really simple for anyone who is new to cabling as it doesn’t need a cable needle.

Miss S xx

Leave a Reply

