Pattern Review: Raglan Jersey Suit

DSC02205

The basic stats

Pattern name: Raglan Jersey Suit (note this is just the jumper)

Pattern Book/Booklet: Second Size Woollies in P&B wools of 4-ply weight (Booklet number 406)

Date of publish: 1950s

Wool required: 3 oz Patons Beehive Fingering 4-ply

Needles required: Two No.12 and No.10* Beehive or Queen Bee needles measured by Beehive gauge

­Buttons: Four

Wool used:  Around 1 and a bit balls of Patons Fairytale Soft 4 ply, I ran out of wool and so also used some Berger Ideal because that is the closest thing I could get my hands on at the time

Needles used: Two No.12 and No.10

Would I knit it again: No – the pattern is a bit plan, I think would rather try a new pattern

Tension: As this is a baby garment I did not check my tension, the tension required is 7sts and 9 rows to one square inch on No.10 needles, measure over stocking stitch

Finished measurements: Chest measurement 18 inch measured flat

Sleeve length 7 inch from underarm seam

The sleeve length matches the booklet however it is meant to fit an 19inch chest, although there is some stretch in the knitting.

More in depth thoughts after the pictures…

DSC02200DSC02201DSC02203

 

 

More in depth thoughts:

There isn’t much to say about this project it was quite an easy knit. I ran out of wool which was irritating, I was on holiday at the time and the while wool was the closest wool that I could come across, although I think it looks quite nice with the contrast collar.

As styling goes I think this is quite a timeless jumper, and so could be given to someone who was a fan of more modern clothes as not everyone wants to put their babies in matinee coats and pram suits.

I know quite I few baby’s due to be born in 2016 so this is a good jumper to have in the stockpile.

This is the second knit from this pattern book, the first pattern can be found here. I also have plans to make the final top in the pattern booklet – Bears in his Pockets later this year. Personally I think this one is the cutest pattern, so it will be interesting to see how I feel after I have knitted it.

Miss S

xx

 

*Note that these are imperial sizes, a No.12 is approximately 2.75mm and No.10  is approximately 3.25mm

Leave a Reply

